KIJHL Overall Award Winners Announced


The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League has announced its Overall Award winners for the 2021/22 season.

Honours have been handed out in seven categories: Most Valuable Player, Top Scorer, Top Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Rookie of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player and Coach of the Year. The overall KIJHL winners were selected from the four individuals recognized with divisional award in a vote by KIJHL head coaches. A full list of divisional award winners in each category is below.

Most Valuable Player: Jack Henderson (Osoyoos Coyotes)

Henderson led the Coyotes to the KIJHL’s top regular season record that included 33 wins and just three regulation losses, marking the team’s best performance since the 2016/17 season. In doing so, he sparked an Osoyoos offensive attack that scored 210 goals, which was 39 more than their next closest opponent.

Finalists: Jacob Biensch (Chase Heat), Griffen Ryden (Castlegar Rebels), Trystan Self (Kimberley Dynamiters).

Top Scorer: Jack Henderson (Osoyoos Coyotes)

Henderson was the KIJHL’s leading regular season points scorer, netting 65 points in just 40 games. The Quesnel product contributed multi-point efforts 12 times, highlighted by a 7-point game that included a hat trick in an October 23rd win over Princeton, and he closed out the regular season on an unbelievable 23-game point streak.

Finalists: Jacob Biensch (Chase Heat), Kayde Kinaschuk (Columbia Valley Rockies), Hayden Stocks (Beaver Valley Nitehawks).

Top Defenceman: Brandon Gallo (Revelstoke Grizzlies)

Gallo was an offensive force from the back end for the Grizzlies, pacing the team’s blueliners with 8 goals and 24 points. He also played big minutes for the one of the league’s stingiest defensive unit, as Revelstoke tied Kimberley for the fewest regular season goals against with 84.

Finalists: Ty Marchant (Kelowna Chiefs), Cameron Reid (Kimberley Dynamiters), Bryce Sookro (Nelson Leafs).

Top Goaltender: Trystan Self (Kimberley Dynamiters)

Self backstopped the Dynamiters to a conference-leading 31-9-0-2 record and topped the KIJHL in wins (22) and save-percentage (.932). It’s tough to find a statistical category where the Calgary product didn’t excel, as he tied for the league lead in shutouts (6), finished second in minutes (1673) and third in goals-against average (1.83).

Finalists: Frederick Larochelle (Kelowna Chiefs), Dylan Marshall (Nelson Leafs), Colton Phillips-Watts (Kamloops Storm).

Rookie of the Year: Kayde Kinaschuk (Columbia Valley Rockies)

No KIJHL player found the back of the net more often this season than Kinaschuk, who scored 33 goals in 39 games. His 14 power-play markers were also tops in the league, while his six game-winners were second. The 19-year old has committed to the Manitoba Junior Hockey League’s Neepawa Titans for the 2022/23 season.

Finalists: Zakery Anderson (Kamloops Storm), Bryce Sookro (Nelson Leafs), Tristan Weill (Summerland Steam).

Most Sportsmanlike Player: Matthew Johnston (North Okanagan Knights)

Johnston found himself on the scoresheet for all the right reasons, contributing offensively for a young Knights’ team to the tune of 30 points in 36 games while being assessed only 6 minutes in penalties. The 17-year old has committed to the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s Grande Prairie Storm for the 2022/23 season.

Finalists: Corbin Cockerill (Creston Thunder Cats), Matthew Johnston (North Okanagan Knights), Tyson Lautard (Nelson Leafs).

Coach of the Year: Derek Stuart (Kimberley Dynamiters) 

Stuart’s outstanding tenure behind the Dynamiters’ bench continued during the 2021/22 campaign as Kimberley captured their fourth consecutive Mountain Division title while leading the Kootenay Conference with 64 points. This is Stuart’s second¬† Coach of the Year award after been recognized at the conclusion of the 2019/20 season.

Finalists: Mario DiBella (Nelson Leafs), Geoff Grimwood (Kamloops Storm), Carter Rigby (Osoyoos Coyotes).